How did I get here?

This was my question as I stood outside SS Apts. last Sat. hugging my friend, Heather. Her apt. has become a crack house, empty of furniture with just stuff sprawled everywhere. Her emptiness so apparent, her suffering expressed in scabs all over her body, her eyes longing for something else, yet her addiction says “feed me.” Lord, only you can save her. Please save her life, save her soul, bring her to surrender. Only by your initiating grace can she say Yes, Jesus! We prayed, she held tight, and listened. I took her dirty laundry, she was embarrassed. I said we all have it, Heather, literally and spiritually. We all have lots of stuff that is dirty in our hearts, that we try to hide. We wear each piece of clothing, hoping we won’t run out of something presentable to wear, to fool people we are clean. But really our idols consume us. Whether it be an addiction to drugs and alcohol, that can kill us; or whether it is pride and bitterness and anger, that just keeps our hearts in lockdown and we suffer within, drowning our sorrows and pretend. And yet, the good news of the gospel says, You are mine, you are clean by my blood, you are righteous, you are loved. Jesus says, come to me, I will give you all you ever needed. It is ME, I am He that you long for. Oh, PaPa, that everyday I could remember my deep need and longing for YOU!. Help me want You, not a quick fix, just Jesus as my more than enough. Then the life of Christ in me just goes out into a crack house, or out of my own bedroom into my own family, or out my door into my neighborhood. Once again knowing this adventure is not about me, but it is about You! Help me again today, I need Jesus!

About mbr319

Loved by God! In my 50's, enjoying the adventure of life with my husband of 36 plus years, my 5 kids and 2 daughters in law, one son in law, and my grandkids, Cay and Canaan! Experiencing the variety of places and people God is putting in my life. I'm grateful and excited about the days ahead..."What's next, PaPa?"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

